Wednesday , 21 March 2018
Breaking News

Senegal Team Squad For AFCON 2017 Football Competition Announced

One of the strongest competitors of Africa Cup of Nations 2017 Senegal have announced list of 23 football players for AFCON 2017. Senegal qualified for the championship being winner of Group K in the qualifiers. This is the 14th appearance of Senegal National Football Team in the competition. Although Senegal have played 13 editions, but they are yet to win the first ever Africa Cup of Nations title. Their best result in this tournament came in 2002 when they finished it at second place.

Senegal Team Squad For AFCON 2017 Football Competition Announced

Senegal Team Squad For AFCON 2017

Four players from Premier League have been selected in the list. These players are Sadio Mane, Idrissa Gueye, Mame Birame Diouf, Cheikhou Kouyate and Mohamed Diame. Moussa Sow of Fenerache, Kalidou Coulibaly of Napoli and Keita Balde Diao of Lazio also made to the list. Check out complete team squad roster of Senegal for Africa Cup of Nations 2017

  • Goalkeepers: Khadim N’Diaye (Horoya AC, Guinea), Abdoulaye Diallo (Çaykur Rizespor, Turkey), Pape Seydou N’Diaye (ASC Niarry Tally)
  • Defenders: Lamine Gassama (Alanyaspor, Turkey), Cheikh M’Bengue (Saint-Etienne, France), Kara Mbodj (Anderlecht, Belgium), Zargo Toure (Lorient, France), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli, Italy), Saliou Ciss (Valenciennes, France)
  • Midfielders: Idrissa Gana Gueye (Everton, England), Cheikhou Kouyate (West Ham, England), Cheikh N’Doye (Angers, France), Papakouli Diop (Espanyol, Spain), Henri Saivet (Saint Etienne, France), Papa Alioune Ndiaye (Osmanlıspor, Turkey), Mohamed Diame (Newcastle, England)
  • Forwards: Sadio Mane (Liverpool England), Keita Balde Diao (Lazio, Italy), Moussa Konate (FC Sion, Switzerland), Famara Diedhiou (Angers, France), Mame Biram Diouf (Stoke, England), Ismaila Sarr (Metz, France), Moussa Sow (Fenerbahce, Turkey)
Senegal are in Group B with Algeria, Tunisia and Zimbabwe. They will play first match against Tunisia on 15th Jan 2017 at Stade de Franceville.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *