Saturday , 28 April 2018
Breaking News

Premier League Players Playing In Africa Cup of Nations 2017

Here is the list of all Premier League players who are going to represent their respective nation in Africa Cup of Nations 2017. The African football championship begins from 14 January 2017 that will be played among 16 football teams. Lots of Premier League players are expected to miss at-least four match weeks as they’ll be playing AFCON 2017.

Premier League players in AFCON 2017

Starting with defending champions Leicester City, they will miss their key striker Riyad Mahrez who will represent Algeria in the competition. Islam Slimani will also join him in the squad. Their team mate Daniel Amartey will play for Ghana.

Leicester City are currently at the bottom half of the table and without the presence of these players, it could be even tougher for the Foxes when the competition is at crucial stage. Three players from Sunderland, Stoke City, Watford and West Ham will also miss Premier League action.

Read also: Egypt team squad for AFCON 2017

Manchester United will be played without defender Eric Bertrand Bailly throughout the Africa Cup of Nations 2017. The 22 years old footballer began his football career with Espanyol and will represent Ivory Coast national football team.

Liverpool’s Sadio Mane will play for Senegal who have huge credit behind super performance of Liverpool this season. Arsenal’s Ismael Bennacer [Algeria] and Mohamed Elneny [Egypt] will also switch to national duty. Check out the complete list of Premier League players below:

List of Premier League players in AFCON 2017

Player name Nation Club
Andrew Ayew Ghana West Ham United
Sofiane Feghouli Algeria West Ham United
Cheikou Kouyate Senegal West Ham United
Nordin Amrabat Morocco Watford
Brice Dja Djedje Ivory Coast Watford
Adlene Guedioura Algeria Watford
Wahbi Khazri Tunisia Sunderland
Lamine Kone Ivory Coast Sunderland
Didier Ndong Gabon Sunderland
Wilfried Bony Ivory Coast Stoke City
Mame Biram Diouf Senegal Stoke City
Ramadan Sobhi Egypt Stoke City
Sofiane Boufal Morocco Southampton
Eric Bertrand Bailly Ivory Coast Manchester United
Sadio Made Senegal Liverpool
Daniel Amartey Ghana Leicester City
Riyad Mahrez Algeria Leicester City
Islam Slimani Algeria Leicester City
Ahmed Elmohamady Egypt Hull City
Dieumerci Mbokani DR Congo Hull City
Idrissa Gueye Senegal Everton
Bakary Sako Mali Crystal Palace
Wilfried Zaha Ivory Coast Crystal Palace
Max Gradel Ivory Coast Bournemouth
Ismael Bennacer Algeria Arsenal
Mohamed Elneny Egypt Arsenal

No players from Chelsea, Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur are in this list. The winner of Africa Cup of Nations 2017 will play FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 football tournament where they will join Russia, Germany, Portugal, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico and Chile.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *