Saturday , 28 April 2018
Breaking News

La Liga 2016-17 Schedule Fixtures In UK Time [BST]

Schedule fixtures of La Liga for 2016-17 have been announced by the Spanish association. Here are the fixtures of La Liga 2016-17 according to British Standard Time. The 86th season of the football competition is schedule to begin from 21 August 2016 with opening match between the defending champions Barcelona and Real Betis. On 15th of July 2016, the fixtures were revealed. Current vice champions Real Madrid will be playing against Real Sociedad on the opening day. You are here to check out fixtures of La Liga 2016-17. So scroll down this page and have a look on schedule calendar of La Liga 2016-17

La Liga 2016-17 Fixtures In BST

La Liga 2016-17 Schedule Fixtures Calendar

On 21st of August 2016, the first official game of La Liga will be played between Barca and Real Betis. It will be played at the home ground of Barcelona i.e. Estadio Camp Nou. Meanwhile, Atletico Madrid will face the promoted side Alaves on same day.

  • Match Week 1
    • Barcelona Vs Real Betis; 21 Aug
    • Malaga Vs Osasuna: 21 Aug
    • Deportivo Vs Eibar: 21 Aug
    • Real Sociedad Vs Real Madrid
    • Sevilla Vs Espanyol: 21 Aug
    • Celta Vigo Vs Leganes: 21 Aug
    • Sporting Vs Athletic Bilbao: 21 Aug
    • Atletico Madrid Vs Alaves: 21 Aug
    • Granada Vs Villarreal: 21 Aug
    • Valencia Vs Las Palmas: 21 Aug
  • Match Week 2
    • Osasuna Vs Real Sociedad: 28 Aug
    • Las Palmas Vs Granada: 28 Aug
    • Athletic Bilbao Vs Barcelona: 28 Aug
    • Espanyol Vs Malaga: 28 Aug
    • Leganes Vs Atletico Madrid: 28 Aug
    • Real Madrid Vs Celta Vigo: 28 Aug
    • Villarreal Vs Sevilla: 28 Aug
    • Real Betis vs Deportivo: 28 Aug
    • Alaves Vs Sporting: 28 Aug
    • Eibar Vs Valencia: 28 Aug

Note: Timing of matches are not revealed yet. Stay tuned for more updates.

Some New Changes In La Liga 2016-17

  • This season onwards, La Liga will not be sponsored by BBVA as the Spanish football federation have announced that the Bank BBVA is not remain the sponsor of the football competition. It will be simply called as La Liga and the second division as La Liga2.
  • As the Spanish Bank BBVA is not remain sponsor of La Liga, Konami’s football video game Pro Evolution Soccer also lost license of La Liga and it has been overtaken by EA’s FIFA.
  • Jiang Lizhang is the new owner of Granada who replaced Italian Giampaolo Pozzo. It was announced on 16th June 2016 that Chinese Jiang Lizhang is the new owner of Granada.

Which are the new promoted teams of La Liga 2016-17

On 29 May 2016, Deportivo Alaves got the promotion to the first flight of La Liga. They had to win against Numancia and they did by winning against Numancia by 2-0. They were the first to get promotion to La Liga 2016-17.
Five days later, CD Leganes won against CD Mirandes by 1-0 and got the promotion to La Liga 2016-17. For the first time in the history, CD Leganes have got the promotion to top football division of Spanish football. They promoted as runners-up on 4th of June 2016.
Last but not the least, CA Osasuna registered themselves as third promoted team of La Liga 2016-17. During play-offs round, CA Osasuna won against Gimnastic de Tarragona and Girona FC. If you remember, Osasuna played La Liga two years ago and they have made a comeback to the top flight.
So Deportivo Alaves, CD Leganes and CA Osasuna are the three teams who got promotion to La Liga 2016-17 and replaced Rayo Vallecano, Getafe and Levante.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *