Friday , 27 April 2018
Breaking News

All 8 Teams Names of FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Football Competition

Here is the list of all eight national football teams of FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Football tournament. This is the a quadrennial Football Championship that will be held in Russia. As the name indicates, it is played among the Champion of each confederation, plus World Cup Winner and host nation. According to this way, this tournament is played by eight best National Football teams. Generally it is played one year before FIFA World Cup. It is also considered as trial event to measure the hosting facilities of upcoming FIFA World Cup. So let’s get back on topic and have a look on list of all qualified teams of FIFA Confederations Cup 2017.

All FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Football Teams Names

all 8 teams of Confederations Cup 2017

This is the first time that Confd. Cup is being played by three countries from one Confederation. Russia, Germany and Portugal are from one Confederation i.e. UEFA [Union of European Football Association]. Russia are hosts, Germany are the World Cup Champions and Portugal are UEFA Euro Winners. You may also like to read Indian telecast channels of Confd. Cup 2017.

On 2nd December 2010, Russia nation selected as hosting nation of FIFA Confederations Cup and FIFA World Cup 2018. Automatically, Russia qualified for Confederations Cup and World Cup Cup. The nation have played any edition of this tournament, so they will make debut in 2017 in FIFA Confd. Cup.

Nation Confederation Qualified as Date Appearances
Russia UEFA 2018 FIFA World Cup Hosts 2 December 2010 0
Germany UEFA 2014 FIFA World Cup Winners 13 July 2014 2
Australia AFC 2015 AFC Asian Cup Winners 31 January 2015 3
Chile CONMEBOL 2015 Copa America Winners 4 July 2015 0
Mexico CONCACAF 2015 CONCACAF Cup Winners 10 October 2015 6
New Zealand OFC 2016 OFC Nations Cup Winners 11 June 2016 3
Portugal UEFA UEFA Euro 2016 Winners 10 July 2016 0
Cameroon CAF 2017 AFCON Winners 5 February 2017 2

Read also: IST Fixtures of FIFA Confederations Cup 2017

All qualified teams are categorized into two groups. Each group is having four teams each. According to FIFA rules, no group should have more than one team from same nation. But due to three teams from one nation. Group A is featured with two teams [Russia and Portugal]. This happened for the first time in this competition.

Group A: Russia, Portugal, Mexico and New Zealand

Group B: Germany, Chile, Australia and Cameroon.

From each group, two top teams [winners and runners-up] will qualify for the next round [semi final]. Keep on reading more about FIFA Confederations Cup 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *