Saturday , 28 April 2018
Breaking News

AFCON 2017 Semi Final Schedule and Qualified Teams

Four African football teams Burkina Faso, Egypt, Cameroon and Ghana have reached the semi final round of AFCON 2017 football championship. Ayew brothers put Ghana into the semi finals where they will play against Cameroon. However, other remaining teams Burkina Faso and Egypt also made it to the semi final and will play against each other. Given below is the semi final schedule of Africa Cup of Nations 2017 competition.

AFCON 2017 Semi Final Schedule

AFCON 2017 semi final schedule

The first semi final will be played between Burkina Faso and Egypt on 1st February 2017 at 7:00 pm / 2:00 pm. On next day, Cameroon will play Ghana in the second semi final of the tournament at 7:00 pm or 2:00 pm.

Aston Villa’s Jordan Ayew gave the important lead to Ghana. He broke a goalless deadlock on 62nd minute, after Congo DR had defended resolutely. It was a tight clash, but somehow, Ghana claimed a 2-1 victory over DR Congo and secured a semi final place.

Burkina Faso was the first team to qualify for semi final. While playing against Tunisia in the quarter final round, Burkina scored two goals without conceding anyone.

In second quarter final, the game ended at 0-0 after extra time. Penalties decided the winner of the game. Cameroon scored all five penalties, but Senegal didn’t. Automatically, Cameroon qualified and they will now face Ghana in semi final round.

Last quarter final of the competition was played among Egypt and Morocco. Both teams defended well, but Morocco gave Egypt space a little bit. They only goal of Egypt was enough to decide who is going to semi final and will face Burkina Faso.

The final of AFCON 2017 will be played on 5 February at the Stade de I’Amitie located in Libreville. Winner of Africa Cup of Nations 2017 will join Germany, Russia, Portugal, Chile, Mexico, New Zealand and Australia in FIFA Confederations Cup 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *